Author Topic: Deleting part of recording and saving work  (Read 3132 times)

burnfield

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Deleting part of recording and saving work
« on: January 27, 2013, 10:49:58 am »
Is it possible to "cut and delete" a section from within a recording to reduce the saved file size? There is a truncate command which removes the end of files. The cut and splice command looks as though it just tells VS to ignore that part of the file. The delete cut appears to just undo this.
To enusre VS remembers what has been done should you select the "save work in progress" command before either closing VS or moving on to record another album. Not sure how updated VS keeps its files.

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1180
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: Deleting part of recording and saving work
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 11:10:39 am »
Hi,

No, there's no permanent 'cut' feature but there is a way to achieve what you want:

1.  Right-click (or Ctrl+click on the Macintosh)  in the list of Recordings / imported files in the Cleanup Audio window and select 'Save a Copy' ... 'In VinylStudio's Recordings Folder'.

2.  In the confirmation dialog, select 'Save corrected audio'.

3.  Save the file.

You can then delete your original recording and the copy will be shorter by the length of the cut(s).

Having said which, I wouldn't bother unless the cuts are long.  You probably won't save much and you lose the ability to undo any other changes you have made to the original file.

VinylStudio saves your work on shutdown and every 5 minutes by default.  You can change this in the Settings / Preferences dialog.