News:

Welcome to the AlpineSoft support forum.  To return to the main website, click here: www.alpinesoft.co.uk

Main Menu

Recommended Recording Parameters

Started by Dennis_M, January 19, 2023, 01:58:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dennis_M

I am a novice at Vinyl Studio and plan on doing a few trial recordings before recording approximately 80 albums thereafter.

With the work I have done thus far, and from notes that I have taken, my plan is to record my albums in FLAC Format.
I suspect that there is a tradeoff between File Size and Fidelity.

My Plan is to record at a Sample Rate of 44.1 KHz. I previously recorded at a Bit Depth of 24 and a Bit Depth of 16.

From the little experience I have in this, I am gravitating on recording at a Sample Rate of 44.1 KHz and a Bit depth of 24.

Do users have any comments on this and/or have folks found that alternate settings may be recommended for specific recordings, etc?

Thanks for your input and recommendations on this.

Steve Crook

FLAC is a lossless compression format and there won't be fidelity problems from using it. But you'll need a PC capable of handling the CPU load of compressing. Basically any reasonably modern PC. I've been recording to FLAC at maximum (level 8) compression for ages on a 7 year old desktop PC without any problems.

My personal preference is to record at the highest resolution possible on my equipment (24/192) and down sample for 16/48. Some will argue you can get audio effects in down sampling, but, honestly I've not noticed anything.

TBH the biggest influence in all of this will still be your source system and the post processing you do to remove clicks and noise from your recordings. I've re-recorded a bunch of albums because I built a new phono-pre and it was so much better than the one I'd originally used it was plainly audible in the recordings I just had to re-do them.

Dennis_M

Steve,

Thank you for your input on this.