Author Topic: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac  (Read 383 times)

JL

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 4
VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« on: August 14, 2019, 08:34:43 am »
Hi,
I bought VinylStudio Pro few days ago and would like to use it to record DSD (128 or 256) from a Mytek Brooklyn ADC connected on my Mac (runing MacOS Mojave 10.14.6) by USB.

However, up to now, I couldn't obtain good settings on both, the software, and the hardware, resulting in this message :


"The incoming audio (PCM) does not match the DSD setting in the DSD Input dropdown (DSD).  Please either:
a)   change the dropdown to match the DSD setting on your input device, or
b)   change the DSD setting on your input device to match the dropdown.

Then click Retry.
You may also need to set the recording level slider to maximum when making DSD recordings."



Has anybody achieved this and could help me please ?

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2019, 05:21:56 pm »
Hi,

You need to select DoP on the front panel of the Brooklyn to make this work.  Did you try that?

JL

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2019, 09:17:23 am »
Hi,
I tried to select DoP on the Brooklyn ADC, however, even if DoP is selected and displays DSD 128, when I go to "check level" in VinylStudio and select DSD Input : DoP DSD128, it changes the DSD type on the ADC (ie : DSD 128 becomes DSD 256).

Moreover, I used to listen sound from the Mac by using the AES output of the ADC as playback device.
However, since I ran VinylStudio and tried to play with settings, I have no more outgoing sound this way.
The best I can get to listen sound now is set the native mode (PCM) under VinylStudio, and then I have some sound mixed with white noise. Then, no sound anymore once I close VinylStudio.

Any help about this two problems is very welcome.

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2019, 03:04:19 pm »
OK, I will do some tests and get back to you.

JL

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2019, 06:14:47 am »
Thank you a lot, I'll let you know until then if I have any good news on my side.

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2019, 05:37:19 pm »
Hi,

I tested DSD input and found no problems, both DoP and QDoP.  I can't test AES output with my setup here unfortunately.  I tested with Mojave 10.14.4

What firmware version do you have installed on your Mytek?  I have version 1.41.  You can check with the Mytek control panel, available here:

https://mytekdigital.com/professional/support/

JL

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VinylStudio Pro and Mytek Brooklyn ADC on Mac
« Reply #6 on: Today at 08:37:08 am »
Hi,

I have Mojave 10.14.6, and the Mytek firmware is 2.00 STBL rev. 0785