Author Topic: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks  (Read 1204 times)

jtinn

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« on: January 14, 2019, 05:39:52 pm »
I am working with a quad dsd file which I was breaking into individual tracks. Everything seemed to have worked well except at the beginning of each track there is a pop / tick.

Any suggestions?

I am using the evaluation copy to see if it works for me. Other than this problem, it seems fine, but this is a big issue for me.

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1185
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2019, 07:18:07 pm »
Hi,

You can move the green start-of-track marker past the click.  Zoom in for better precision.

There are some track splitting tutorials here:

https://www.alpinesoft.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=725.0

jtinn

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2019, 09:05:08 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply Paul. The problem occurs after your software splits the files. Just to be clear, this is not a vinyl transfer where there are pops and ticks. This is  tape transfer which does not have those inherent issues. These appear to have been created by your software.

Any other suggestions?

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1185
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2019, 09:50:55 pm »
Hi,

If you have the track split anywhere other than a period of silence that could explain this.

jtinn

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2019, 11:37:50 pm »
So if there is a bit of tape hiss, is there anyway to avoid it and stay native quad dsd?

Paul Sanders (AlpineSoft)

  • Administrator
  • Staff
  • *****
  • Posts: 1185
    • AlpineSoft Main Website
Re: Pop / Click at the beginning of tracks
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2019, 01:41:02 pm »
Not really.  Just position the track break markers at the quietest available spot.